Бежать или наступать: агрессивный доллар ищет союзников

ФРС повысила ставку; BOE добавляет оптимизма; ЕЦБ откладывает ужесточение на 2019-ый. Конфликт США-Китай обостряется строго по плану.

В команде Трампа новые потери; невнятность позиции Пауэлла привели к бегству от риска.

Повышение ставки ФРС было полностью учтено рынком, сопроводительное заявление не отличалось от январского, голосование было единогласным. Прогнозы роста пересмотрены в позитивную сторону, регулятор ожидает более активного роста рынка труда и экономики в целом. На своей первой пресс-конференции Пауэлл очень старался понравиться Трампу, но серьезную обеспокоенность текущей политикой спрятать не удалось. Новый глава ФРС слишком опасался резкого роста доллара и доходностей ГКО США – в результате получил падение фондового рынка.

Это означает, что доллар продолжит «нервничать» на статистических данных, так как реагировать на политические проблемы в текущей ситуации слишком опасно. Президент привык анализировать свой рейтинг с помощью динамики фондовых активов, то есть затяжное падение просто обязано привести к переосмыслению ситуации самим Трампом. Но пока надежда на это слабая.

Новый shutdown отменяется: Трамп подписал закон о бюджете США на 2018 финансовый год − $1.3 трлн., в том числе $700 млрд. на оборону (на $80 млрд. больше, чем в прошлом году). Хотя большинством цифр в документе президент традиционно остался недоволен (реформу иммиграционных правил не поддержали и $25 млрд. на стену с Мексикой не дали), финансирование правительства продлено до 30 сентября.

Также президент подписал меморандум торговых санкций для Китая на сумму $50 млрд.; рынки к этому готовы, металлические пошлины отложены до начала мая для большинства стран, включая ЕС, Канаду, Мексику и Северную Корею. Уступка требованиям США создаст прецедент, который в дальнейшем может быть более жестко использован против отдельных стран ЕС, прежде всего − Германии. Четкой европейской позиции по данному вопросу пока нет. Переговоры планируется завершить до конца апреля, но в момент подписания решения о пошлинах Трампом было заявлено, что это «первый документ из многих», что подтверждает наихудшие опасения.

Ответные меры, анонсированные Китаем, пока выглядят скромно, основная программа санкций только прорабатывается. Объемы потерь для американских товаров (стальные трубы, фрукты, вино, свинина, переработанный алюминий) обещают адекватные. В первую очередь рассматриваются санкции в отношении Боинга и крупного автобизнеса, а также спекулятивная продажа ГКО США. НБК пытается сдержать отток капитала путем повышения краткосрочных ставок, но это мало помогает. Инсайд о возможной силовой девальвации юаня против доллара может быть актуальным только после публикации годового отчета минфина США о странах, манипулирующих своей валютой.

Отметим еще несколько «болевых» точек:

  • Отставка советника по национальной безопасности Макмастера и приход на должность «военного ястреба» экс-постпреда США при ООН Джона Болтона воспринимается рынками как тревожный сигнал. Позиции нового советника по Ирану и Северной Корее считаются крайне агрессивными.
  • Джон Дауд, основной адвокат Трампа в расследовании Мюллера, покинул команду, так как Дональд полностью игнорирует его рекомендации, чем значительно ухудшает свою позицию в процессе. Быть соучастником поражения президента уважаемый юрист не намерен: место в стене защитников пока вакантно.
  • Невзирая на дружбу Трампа с Абэ, Япония освобождение от пошлин не получила, и гарантий США по безопасности в политической войне с КНДР – тоже. Иена растет на фоне коррупционного скандала с продажей земли для образовательного фонда, в котором замешана супруга премьер-министра, и визит Абэ в США в начале апреля вряд ли изменит геополитическую и торговую расстановку сил. Поддержку иене традиционно оказывает репатриация капитала японскими инвесторами в связи с завершением 31 марта текущего финансового года.
  • Итальянский темперамент в процессе формирования коалиционного правительства пока продуцирует только скандалы. И хотя в субботу перемирие между Сальвини и Берлускони привело к назначению спикеров обеих палат, детальные консультации начнутся только с начала апреля и прогнозируются длительными. Если коалиция не будет сформирована до июля, то в октябре стоит ждать новых выборов.

Главной темой саммитов минфинов, глав ЦБ G20 и лидеров ЕС стал протекционизм Трампа, на обсуждение реформ ЕС времени не хватило, решение перенесено на июнь. Единственным полезным итогом можно считать анонс возможности глобального торгового соглашения с Британией после полного выхода из ЕС.

Фунт получил поддержку от отчета по рынку труда и заседания ВOЕ, рыночные ожидания повышения ставки в мае превысили 80%, два повышения в текущем году маловероятно. Инфляция и экономический рост соответствуют февральским прогнозам. Фиксация соглашения по переходному периоду Brexit также трактуется позитивно, но неопределенность в отношении сектора финансовых услуг не позволяет фунту уверенно расти. Паспортизация банков Британии в переходной период также под вопросом.

Согласно данным доклада CIPS, из-за Brexit каждая седьмая европейская компания (14%) уже вывела бизнес и основную часть активов из Великобритании, 11% фирм, представляющих страны ЕС, сократили свой персонал. Это факт уже приводит к росту цен для британских потребителей. В свое время Карни заявил, что повышение ставки станет возможным при росте ВВП не ниже 1,5%, поэтому стоит отследить очередную публикацию данных в четверг.

Также на текущей неделе обращаем внимание на данные США по инфляции потребительских расходов, личным расходам/доходам, а также ВВП за 4 квартал. По евро необходимо отследить рост инфляции отдельных стран (за март), цифры по общей инфляции ЕС будут опубликованы 4 апреля.

Важных выступлений членов ЕЦБ не запланировано (но могут случиться); ожидается множество выступлений членов ФРС (сегодня слушаем Дадли и Местер).

Напоминаем: на большинстве торговых площадок в четверг – короткий рабочий день (вечером логично ожидать фиксирование прибыли), а в пятницу − выходной.

Технический анализ EUR/USD

EUR/USD forex

Технический анализ USD/JPY

USD/JPY forex

Автор: Виктор Смирнов,
валютный аналитик ForexChief

To run or to attack: aggressive dollar looks for allies

FRS has raised a rate; BOE adds optimism; ECB postpones toughening for the 2019th.

The conflict between the USA and China escalates strictly according to the plan. New losses in Trump's team; the indistinctness of Powell`s position was led to escape from risk.

Increase in a rate of FRS has been completely considered by the market, the accompanying statement didn't differ from January, the vote was unanimous. Forecasts of growth are revised in a positive side, the regulator expects more active growth of labor market and economy in general. At the first press conference, Powell tried to be pleasant to Trump very much, but serious concern about the current policy didn't manage to be hidden. The new head of the Federal Reserve was afraid too much of the sharp growth of dollar and profitability of state treasury bills of the USA – as a result, he has the fall of the stock market.

It means that the dollar will continue «to be nervous» on statistical data as it is too dangerous to react to political problems in the current situation. The president has got used to analyze the rating by means of dynamics of share assets, that is long falling simply has to lead to a reconsideration of a situation by Trump. But so far hope for it is weak.

The new shutdown is canceled: Trump has signed the law on the budget of the USA for 2018 financial year − in $1.3 trillion, including $700 billion for defense (it is more for $80 billion than last year). Though the majority of figures in the document the president traditionally remained dissatisfied (reform of immigration rules was not supported and $25 billion for a wall with Mexico haven't given), financing of the government is prolonged till 30 September.

Also, the president has signed the memorandum of trade sanctions for China for the sum of $50 billion; the markets are ready to it, metal duties are postponed prior to the beginning of May for the majority of the countries, including the EU, Canada, Mexico and North Korea. The concession to requirements of the USA will create a precedent which can be more rigidly used further against certain EU countries, first of all, Germany. There is no accurate European position on the matter yet. Negotiations are planned to be completed until the end of April, but at the time of the signing of the decision on duties by Trump, it has been stated that it is «the first document from many» what confirms the worst fears.

The response measures announced by China while looking modestly, the main program of sanctions are only studied. They promise adequate volumes of losses for the American goods (steel pipes, fruit, wine, pork, the processed aluminum). First of all sanctions against the Boeing and a large car business and also the speculative sale of state treasury bills of the USA are considered. PBOC tries to constrain a capital outflow by an increase in short-term rates, but it helps a little. The insider about possible power devaluation of yuan against dollar can be relevant only after the publication of the annual report of the Ministry of Finance of the USA on the countries manipulating the currency.

We will note some more «painful» points:

  • The resignation of the adviser for a homeland security of McMaster and accept to a position of «a military hawk» the ex-permanent representative of the USA at the UN John Bolton is perceived by the markets as a disturbing signal. Positions of the new adviser for Iran and Northern Korea are considered as extremely aggressive.
  • John Dowd, the main lawyer of Trump in Mueller`s investigation, left the team as Donald completely ignores his recommendations that is considerably worsens the position in the process. The accomplice of the defeat of the president dear lawyer not to be intended: the place in a wall of defenders is still vacant.
  • Despite Trump's friendship with Abe, Japan hasn't received a release from duties, and guarantees of the USA on safety in a political war with DPRK too. The yen grows against the background of a corruption scandal with the sale of land for the educational fund in which the prime minister's spouse is involved, and Abe's visit to the USA at the beginning of April will hardly change geopolitical and trade alignment of forces. Support to yen is traditionally given by repatriation of the capital by the Japanese investors in connection with the current financial year at 31 March.
  • The Italian temperament in the course of formation of the coalition government produces only scandals so far. And though on Saturday truce between Salvini and Berlusconi has led to the appointment of speakers of both chambers, detailed consultations will be started only since the beginning of April and are predicted by long. If the coalition isn't created until July, then in October it is worth waiting for new elections. Trump's protectionism became the main subject of the summits of the Ministries of Finance, heads of the Central Bank of the G20 and leaders of the EU, wasn't enough time for discussion of reforms of the EU, the decision is postponed for June. The only useful result can be considered the announcement of a possibility of the global trade agreement with Britain after a full exit from the EU.

The pound has got support from the report on the labor market and BOE meetings, market expectations of an increase in a rate in May have exceeded 80%, two increases in the current year are improbable. Inflation and economic growth correspond to February forecasts. Fixing of the agreement on a transition period of Brexit is also treated positively, but uncertainty concerning the sector of financial services doesn't allow pound grow surely. Certification of banks of Britain in the transitional period also questionable.

According to data of the report of CIPS, because of Brexit, every seventh European company (14%) has already brought business and the main part of assets out of Great Britain, 11% of the firms representing EU countries have reduced the personnel. This fact already leads to increase in prices for the British consumers. In due time Carney has said that increase in a rate will become possible at GDP growth not lower than 1,5%, therefore, it is worth tracing the next publication of data on Thursday.

Also, the current week we pay attention to data of the USA on inflation of consumer expenses, to personal expenses/income and also GDP for the 4th quarter. For euro it is necessary to monitor the growth of inflation of the certain countries (for March), figures on the general inflation of the EU will be published on 4 April.

Important performances of members of the ECB aren't planned (but can happen); the set of performances of members of FRS is expected (today we listen to Dudley and Mester).

We remind: on the most of trading floors on Thursday – the short working day (it is logical to expect fixation of profit in the evening), and on Friday − day off.

Technical Analysis EUR/USD

EUR/USD forex


Technical Analysis USD/JPY

USD/JPY forex

Author: Navsher Bartash,
ForexChief Currency strategist