Парад Центробанков: время собирать камни

Новый план Трампа по Ирану провалился; Китай держит жесткую позицию в переговорах;

Британия привыкает к новому премьеру; США отказался от очередной валютной интервенции. ЕЦБ сохранил ставки, но его американский визави настроен более решительно.

Основные болевые точки сохраняются и новых путей решения проблем пока не нашли. Итак:

  • ФРС

В рамках базовой программы Федрезерв на заседании 31 июля примет решение о снижении ставки на 0,25%; основная причина − внешние риски, хотя статистики для такого решения нет. Экономика растет средними темпами, уровень безработицы в зоне исторических минимумов, фондовый рынок США на максимуме, инфляция подает признаки роста. Но если ФРС сейчас откажется снижать ставку, то бегство от риска будет таким сильным, что на сентябрьском заседании Пауэллу придется снижать ставку сразу на 0,50% из-за ужесточения финансовых условий.

Экспорт стремительно падает, основным фактором роста остается внутреннее потребление, но демократы не позволят Трампу запустить новые фискальные стимулы. Если бы Дональд закопал томагавк торговых войн и оформил хотя бы промежуточные соглашения с Китаем, ЕС и Японией, экономика получила бы импульс роста от экспорта и в результате падения доллара. Но война – основной метод предвыборной борьбы и отказ от нее ставит под угрозу второй президентский срок Трампа.

Ключевые моменты сопроводительного заявления ФРС:

  • указания по ставкам;
  • инфляция;
  • оценка роста экономики США;
  • наличие и персональный состав несогласных с текушей политикой;

На предстоящем заседании новых прогнозов не будет. Рынки к этому готовы, сильная реакция маловероятна. Если Пауэлл уступит Трампу и решится на резкую девальвацию доллара, то есть малый шанс снижения ставки сразу на 0,50пп, но рынкам это очень не понравится.

  • ЕЦБ

Дорога к запуску пакета стимулов на сентябрьском заседании открыта; заявлена необходимость мягкой монетарной политики в течение длительного периода времени, так как инфляция находится постоянно ниже цели ЕЦБ. Евро обновил минимумы еще до пресс-конференции.

Драги явно не хотел отвечать на вопрос, насколько единогласным было голосование и заявил, что трудно достичь единства по пунктам широкого пакета стимулов. Марио уточнил, что риск рецессии по-прежнему достаточно низкий, но баланс рисков снижается в среднеcрочной перспективе, сектор услуг и строительства в Еврозоне растет, рост рынка труда и зарплат поддерживает динамику инфляции.

Так как ЕЦБ ждет сентябрьскую статистику, то на прошедшем заседании не обсуждался размер предстоящего снижения ставки, изменение лимитов покупок активов, размер и состав программы смягчения. Снижение ставки в сентябре является практически решенным вопросом, но несколько членов ЕЦБ не уверены в эффективности новой программы евроQE. Драги проведет еще два заседания (12 сентября и 10 октября), прежде чем уйдет в отставку. Франция активно продвигает Драги на пост в МВФ (рокировка с Лагард), но пока безуспешно.

Если заседание ФРС не приведет к сильному росту евро, решение ЕЦБ в сентябре окажется ниже ожиданий рынка – ждем новых инсайдов от европейских лидеров.

  • фунт и Brexit

Британские военные корабли начали патрулировать Ормузский пролив. Новый премьер-министр Борис Джонсон провел первые телефонные переговоры с лидерами ЕС. Требование исключить гарантии Британии по поддержке открытой границы с Ирландией вызвало негативную реакцию. Юнкер был вынужден напомнить, что текуший вариант соглашения о выходе корректироваться не будет. ЕС пока не сделал никаких шагов в теме «новых переговоров», так что все выпады Джонсона – чистые спекуляции. Меркель и Макрон пригласили Джонсона в гости: либо эти визиты станут прорывом в теме Brexit, либо непонимание проблемы усилится. Вероятность досрочных выборов в парламент Британии активно растет, что увеличит шансы выхода из ЕС без соглашения.

Заседание ВOЕ и PMI промышленности в целом будут негативны для фунта, так как центробанк давно сменил свою риторику из-за замедления экономики Британии. Ждем новые комментарии по вариантам выхода из ЕС без соглашения, и статистику ВВП, вероятнее всего, ниже прогноза.

  • Япония

Завтра Банк Японии обнародует своё решение по процентной ставке: коррекции не планируется, прогнозы будут понижены, но реальных действий не будет. Пресс-конференцию слушаем внимательно, регулятор может дать ориентиры по будущей монетарной политике, вероятнее всего, в сторону дальнейшего смягчения. Обращаем внимание на данные по безработице за июнь, которая, согласно прогноза, должна оставаться на низком уровне − не более 2,4% трудоспособного населения.

  • Иран

Трамп отменил военный удар, но пытается принять меры для обеспечения безопасности танкеров в Ормузском проливе. Формирование коалиции военных кораблей было бы неплохим вариантом, но пока, кроме Британии, потенциальные союзники дистанцируются от этой инициативы США. Европа не доверяет мотивам Трампа и планирует создать условия для всеобъемлющих региональных переговоров по безопасности перевозок.

Неудачи Трампа не означают, что Ирану удастся предотвратить дальнейшее падение экспорта нефти – все санкции остаются в силе. Запад не стремится к войне, так что захват танкеров вблизи иранской территории будет продолжаться. Просто рынок привыкнет и не станет реагировать на информацию по этой проблеме: крупным игрокам гораздо интереснее перспективы сохранения избытка предложения в следующем году.

  • NFP

Напоминаем, что ISM услуг выйдет на следующей неделе. Июльский отчет по рынку труда может изменить направление рынков после заседания ФРС или усилить реакцию на его решение. Если Пауэлл заявит, что снижение ставки ФРС было упреждающим и для дальнейших корректировок ставки необходимо подождать 2-4 месяца, то доллар может немного подрасти, но при негативном NFP будет активно продаваться. Главная реакция рынка будет на количество новых рабочих мест и уровни безработицы; обращаем внимание на ревизию данных за июль. Рост зарплат окажет сильное влияние только в случае выхода выше 3,4%, но такой рост маловероятен.

Кроме NFP, на текущей неделе обращаем внимание на статистику:

  • США – инфляция потребительских расходов, отчет ADP, ISM промышленности, личные расходы и доходы, индекс себестоимости рабочей силы, PMI Чикаго;
  • Еврозона – индекс доверия потребителя, отчет по рынку труда Германии, инфляция потребительских цен и уровень безработицы Еврозоны, ВВП Еврозоны, PMI промышленности и розничные продажи стран ЕС.

Сегодня американская команда переговорщиков прибудет в Шанхай, но крупного прорыва не планируется. При назначении даты ответного визита в Вашингтон возможен краткосрочный всплеск аппетита к риску, особенно на фоне снижения ставки ФРС. Обращаем внимание на китайские данные PMI. Ситуация может резко меняться в течение недели , поэтому всю фундаментальную информацию тщательно изучаем.

Технический анализ EUR/USD

EUR/USD forex


Технический анализ USD/JPY

USD/JPY forex

Автор: Сергей Кузнецов,
валютный аналитик ForexChief

Parade of Central Banks: a time to gather stones together

Trump's new Iran plan failed;China holds a tough stance in negotiations;Britain is getting used to the new prime minister

The United States refused to regular currency intervention.The ECB kept the stakes, but his American vis-a-vis is more in a forceful mood. The main painful points remain and new solutions to problems have not yet been found.So:

  • FRS

As part of the basic program, the Federal Reserve will decide at a meeting on July 31 to reduce the rate by 0.25%; the main reason is external risks, although there are no statistics for such a decision. The economy grows at average rates, unemployment rate in a zone of historic lows, the stock market of the USA on a maximum, inflation gives signs of growth. But if FRS refuses to reduce a rate now, then escape from risk will be such strong that at a September meeting Powell should lower a rate by 0.50% because of toughening of financial conditions at once.

Export promptly falls, internal consumption remains a major factor of growth, but Democrats will not allow Trump to start new fiscal incentives. If Donald had buried the tomahawk of trade warsand designed at least intermediate agreements with China, the EU, and Japan, the economy would have received a boost from exports and as a result of the dollar falling. But war is the main method of election campaigning and the rejection of it endangers Trump’s second presidential term.

Key moments of the accompanying statement of FRS:

  • instructions at the rates;
  • inflation;
  • assessment of the growth of the US economy;
  • the presence and composition of those who disagree with the current policy;

At the upcoming meeting of the new forecasts will not be.Markets are ready for this, a strong reaction is unlikely.If Powell concedes to Trump and decides on a sharp devaluation of the dollar, there is a small chance of lowering the rate by 0.50pp at once, but the markets will not like it very much.

  • ECB

The road to start of a package of incentives at a September meeting is open; need of soft monetary policy during the long period of time as inflation is constantly below the purpose of the ECB is stated. Euro updated minima prior to a press conference.

Draghi obviously did not want to answer a question how unanimous was vote and said that it is difficult to reach unity on points of a wide package of incentives. Mario specified that risk of recession still rather low, but the balance of risks decreases in medium-term prospect, the service sector and constructions grows in the Eurozone, growth of labor market and salaries maintains dynamics of inflation.

As the ECB waits for September statistics, the amount of the forthcoming decrease in a rate, change of limits of purchases of assets, the size and structure of the program of mitigation was not discussed at last meeting. Decrease in a rate in September is almost resolved issue, but several members of the ECB are not sure of efficiency of the new program evroqe. Draghi will hold two more meetings (on September 12 and on October 10) before he resigns. France actively advances Draghi on a post in the IMF (castling with Lagarde), but still unsuccessfully.

If the meeting of FRS does not lead to the strong growth of euro, the decision of the ECB in September will appear below market expectations – we wait for new insiders from the European leaders.

  • Pound and Brexit

British warships began patrolling the Strait of Hormuz. The new prime minister, Boris Johnson, held the first telephone talks with EU leaders. The requirement to exclude the guarantees of Britain to support the open border with Ireland caused a negative reaction. Juncker was forced to remind you that the current version of the exit agreement will not be adjusted. The EU has not yet taken any steps in the subject of «new negotiations», so all Johnson's attacks are pure speculation.

Merkel and Macron invited Johnson to visit: either these visits will be a breakthrough in the Brexit theme, or misunderstanding of the problem will increase. The likelihood of early parliamentary elections in Britain is actively growing, which will increase the chances of leaving the EU without an agreement.

The meeting of the BOE and PMI industry as a whole will be negative for the pound, as the central bank has long changed its rhetoric due to the slowdown of the British economy. We are waiting for new comments on options for leaving the EU without an agreement, and GDP statistics are most likely lower than the forecast.

  • Japan

Tomorrow the Bank of Japan will publish the decision on an interest rate: correction is not planned, forecasts will be lowered, but real actions will not be. We listen carefully to a press conference, the regulator can give reference points on future monetary policy, most likely, towards further mitigation. We pay attention to data on unemployment for June which, according to the forecast, has to remain at a low level − no more than 2.4% of able-bodied population.

  • Iran

Trump cancelled military strike, but tries to take measures for safety of tankers in the Strait of Hormuz. Formation of the coalition of warships would be quite good option, but so far, except Britain, potential allies separate from this initiative of the USA. Europe does not trust Trump's motives and plans to create conditions for comprehensive regional talks on safety of transportations.

Trump's failures do not mean that Iran will manage to prevent further falling of export of oil – all sanctions remain in force. The West does not seek for war so hijacking of tankers near the Iranian territory will continue. Just the market will get used and will not begin to react to information on this problem: it is much more interesting to large players than the prospect of maintaining surplus of the offer next year.

  • NFP

We remind you that ISM services will be released next week. The July report on the labor market may change the direction of the markets after the Fed meeting or increase the response to his decision. If Powell declares that the Fed rate cut was proactive and for further rate adjustments it is necessary to wait 2-4 months, then the dollar may rise slightly, but with a negative NFP it will be actively sold. The main reaction of the market will be to the number of new jobs and unemployment rates; Pay attention to the revision of data for July. The growth of salaries will have a strong impact only if the output is above 3.4%, but such growth is unlikely.

In addition to NFP, this week we pay attention to the statistics:

  • USA - consumer spending inflation, ADP report, ISM industry, personal spending and income, labor cost index, Chicago PMI;
  • Eurozone - is a consumer confidence index, a report on the German labor market, consumer price inflation and the eurozone unemployment rate, Eurozone GDP, industry PMI and retail sales in EU countries.

Today, the American team of negotiators will arrive in Shanghai, but no major breakthrough is planned. A short-term risk appetite for the short-term risk appetite is possible when setting the date for a return visit to Washington, especially against the background of the Fed rate cut. Pay attention to the Chinese PMI data. The situation can dramatically change during the week, so all the fundamental information is carefully studied.

Technical Analysis EUR/USD

EUR/USD forex


Technical Analysis USD/JPY

USD/JPY forex

Author: Navsher Bartash,
ForexChief Currency strategist