Ракетами по рынку: миссия заявлена и перевыполнена

Новостной хаос прошлой недели предлагал информацию на любой вкус: политика, война, расследования, негативная статистика.

Рынки метались между Китаем, очередным приступом трампомании, итальянскими дебатами, но последним фактором для падения рынка акций оказалась Сирия.

В ночь на субботу США, Великобритания и Франция нанесли по Сирии скоординированный воздушный удар по объектам, имеющим отношение к производству и применению химического оружия. Даже если не обращать внимание на восторги в Трамп-Twitter, судя по всему, военная акция, задачей которой было снизить возможности режима Асада по использованию химического оружия, достигла цели. О жертвах не сообщается, производственные мощности уничтожены. Новые удары не планируются, стороны выжидают в надежде все-таки вынудить Асада к переговорам. Первую реакцию рынок уже отработал, сегодня ожидается выступление Мнучина с новым планом санкций против России.

Протокол ФРС вышел ястребиным, хотя и не привел к значительной реакции – рынки были сконцентрированы на геополитических рисках. Наиболее значимым выглядит обсуждение влияния фискальных стимулов на рост экономики, единодушный оптимизм по уровню инфляции, риски торговых войн и повышенную волатильность рынков, причем повышение пошлин на импорт стали и алюминия проблемой не воспринимается. Ни один из факторов не считается препятствием для дальнейшего повышения ставок ФРС.

Спецпрокурор Мюллер может положить еще несколько победных очков в свою копилку: истерика Трампа на тему увольнения генерального прокурора США Рода Розенштейна только подтверждает попытки президента ограничить масштаб поисков компромата. Трамп уже согласен на расследование связей с Россией, но требует, чтобы расследование этим и ограничилось. Очевидно, есть что-то еще?..

Проведение обыска в доме и офисе адвоката Трампа Майкла Коэна, который имел привычку записывать разговоры с клиентами и возможное изъятие таких записей увеличивает риски импичмента. Публикация мемуаров бывшего главы ФБР Коми придают этой ситуации особую пикантность. Попытки мести Трампа неуправляемым чиновникам также негативны для рынков и могут привести к кратковременному падению доллара.

Но гораздо большим риском для американских активов является намерение президента уменьшить расходы бюджета − законопроект может быть подан в Конгресс уже к 1 мая. Республиканцы активно против, так как действующий проект и так стал жестким компромиссом между финансовыми группировками, и необходимое количество голосов в Сенате получить нереально. Однако сама идея сокращения фискальных стимулов приведет к снижению прогнозов по росту экономики США.

Не стоит обольщаться на счет мирного урегулирования США-Китай: высокопоставленный торговый представитель КНР Гао Фэн заявил, что у Китая готов детальный и всеобъемлющий план контрудара, а официальных переговоров с американской стороной не проводилось. Недавно анонсированные меры по расширению доступа к китайскому рынку не имеют никакого отношения к давлению со стороны США в рамках существующего торгового конфликта. Пекин намерен и далее твердо следовать стратегии Made in China 2025.

Первый квартал для евро выдался неважным, однако во втором ситуация может существенно измениться. Распродажа евро была обусловлена протоколом ЕЦБ с очередным комплектом сомнений чиновников Центробанка и даже позитивные комментарии Драги не помогли. На фоне негативных макроэкономических релизов евро ускорил падение к нижней части торгового диапазона. Сегодня представляет интерес выступление главного экономиста ЕЦБ Праета, а с четверга начнется «неделя тишины» перед заседанием ЕЦБ 26 апреля.

Рынки уже начинают делать ставки на заявления о замедлении роста экономики Еврозоны – в таком случае придется отсрочить начало сворачивания программы QE. Если ЕЦБ признает риски для экономики, то это означает, что время для нормализации политики упущено, и никакие манипуляции Драги ситуацию не спасут.

Европейские инвесторы рассчитывают на повышение ставки ВOЕ в мае, а фунт на прошлой неделе выглядел лучше всех европейских валют. Он в который раз проигнорировал слабые данные макростатистики и отсутствие прогресса по вопросу ирландской границы, а также заявление Барнье, что заключения сделки по Brexit в ближайшие недели не ожидается.

Дополнительным негативом в теме можно считать последнюю попытку общественности остановить Brexit: проевропейские депутаты, бизнес и публичные деятели запускают компанию «Голос общественности» за дополнительный референдум о выходе из состава ЕС. Официально процесс стартует в ближайшие дни с митинга в Северном Лондоне, но юридических шансов на успех этой идеи уже нет.

Из других новостей отметим:

  • Второй раунд консультаций президента Италии Маттареллы с лидерами партий закончился безрезультатно, стороны взяли паузу. Мандата на формирование коалиции имеет значительное влияние на евро: если доверие будет оказано Сальвини − евро окажется под давлением, если Ди Майо: возможен небольшой позитив. Решение этого вопроса явно ждет региональных выборов 22 и 29 апреля − победитель повысит свои шансы на получение поста премьера.
  • Судя по опросам, примерно 38% британцев полагают, что премьер Мэй (без обсуждения с парламентом!) приняла решение об участии Британии в операции против Сирии только для того, чтобы укрепить свою пошатнувшуюся популярность.
  • Лидеры ЕС сообщают о достижении прогресса в переговорах с США в отношении ядерного соглашения по Ирану: если соглашение будет сохранено, а новые санкции не затронут экспорт нефти Ирана, то основные бенчмарки получат мощный стимул к снижению.
  • На текущей неделе инвесторы будут следить за развитием ситуации в Сирии и оценивать потенциальный эффект тлеющего торгового конфликта между США и Китаем.

    Основной информацией Федрезерва на текущей неделе будет «Бежевая книга», а также массовые выступления различного ранга чиновников ФРС. Напомним: вероятность повышения процентной ставки в июне оценивается в 95%, на третье повышение (в декабре) – примерно 85%.

    Британия во вторник озвучит данные по инфляции в марте, а далее – отчет по безработице и объему розничных продаж – возможны новые сигналы о влиянии Brexit на экономику. По Еврозоне следует отследить инфляцию за март и индекс Германии ZEW.

    Обязательно обращаем внимание на китайскую статистику. Во вторник Китай первым из ведущих экономик мира опубликует данные по экономическому росту за первый квартал. Дополнительный блок данных, как прогнозируется, поддержит положительную динамику роста (примерно на 6,8%). Кроме того, инвесторы пытаются понять, чем завершится ли серия взаимных угроз между США и Китаем. Также от торгового представительства США ждем публикацию дополнительного списка продукции Китая (на $100 млрд.) для повышения пошлин.

    Технический анализ EUR/USD

    EUR/USD forex

    Технический анализ USD/JPY

    USD/JPY forex

Автор: Максим Куликов,
валютный аналитик ForexChief

By the rockets to market: the mission is declared and exceeded

News chaos of last week offered information for every taste: policy, war, investigations, negative statistics.

The markets rushed about between China, the next attack of a trampomania, the Italian debate, but Syria was the last factor for falling of the stock market.

On Friday night the USA, Great Britain and France have struck the coordinated air blow to the objects concerning production and use of chemical weapon in Syria. Even if not to pay attention to delights in Trump Twitter, apparently, the military action which goal was to lower possibilities of the regime of Assad on use of the chemical weapon has achieved the target. About the victims it isn't reported, production capacities are destroyed. New blows aren't planned, the parties wait in hope to compel Assad to negotiations after all. The market has already worked the first reaction, Mnuchin's performance with the new plan of sanctions against Russia is expected today.

The protocol of FRS was released hawk, though did not lead to the considerable response – the markets were concentrated on geopolitical risks. The most significant looks discussion of the influence of fiscal incentives on the growth of the economy, unanimous optimism on the rate of inflation, risks of trade wars and the increased volatility of the markets, and increase in duties on steel import and aluminum is not perceived as a problem. Any of factors is not considered a hindrance to further increase in rates of FRS.

The special prosecutor Mueller can put some more winning points in the moneybox: the hysteric of Trump on the dismissal of the Attorney-General of the USA Rod Rosenstein only confirms attempts of the president to restrict the scale of the search of a compromising evidence. Trump already agrees to the investigation of communications with Russia, but requires that investigation to be restricted to it. Obviously, there is something else?..

Carrying out a search in the house and office of Michael Coen, the lawyer of Trump, who was accustomed to record talks to clients and the possible exception of such records increases risks of an impeachment to Trump. The publication of memoirs of the former head of FBR Komi adds to this situation special savor. Attempts of revenge of Trump to uncontrollable officials are also negative for the markets and can lead to the short-time decline of the dollar.

But the much bigger risk for the American assets is the intention of the president to reduce expenditures of the budget − the bill can be submitted to the Congress by 1 May. Republicans actively against as the operating project already became a rigid compromise between financial groups so it is unreal to receive a required number of votes in the Senate. However, the idea of abbreviation of fiscal incentives will lead to lowering of forecasts for growth of the economy of the USA.

You should not be under a delusion into concerning the peaceful settlement of the USA-China: the senior sales representative of the People's Republic of China Gao Feng said that the detail and comprehensive plan of counterstroke is ready at China, and official negotiations with the American side were not held. Recently announced measures for extension of access to the Chinese market have no relation to pressure from the USA within the existing trade conflict. Beijing intends further to follow the strategy of Made in China 2025.

The first quarter for euro was unsuccessful, however, in the second, the situation can significantly change. The sale of euro was caused by the protocol of the ECB with the next set of doubts of officials of the Central Bank and even positive comments of Draghi did not help. Against the background of negative macroeconomic releases, the euro accelerated falling to the lower part of the trading range. Today the speech of Prayet, the chief economist of the ECB, is of interest, and from Thursday «week of silence» before a meeting of the ECB on 26 April will begin.

The markets already begin to stake on announcements about the deceleration of growth of the economy of the Eurozone – in that case it is necessary to delay the beginning of reducing the QE program. If the ECB recognizes risks for the economy, then it means that time for normalization of a policy is missed, and no manipulations of Draghi will save the situation.

The European investors count on an increase in a rate of BOE in May, and the pound last week looked best of all the European currencies. He has again ignored weak data of macrostatistics and lack of progress concerning the Irish border and also Barnier's statement that the conclusion of the transaction on Brexit in the next weeks isn't expected.

The additional negative in a subject can be considered the last attempt of the public to stop Brexit: pro-European deputies, business and public figures start the Public Voice company for an additional referendum on the exit from the EU. Officially process starts with a meeting in Northern London in the next few days, but there are no legal chances of success of this idea anymore.

From other news we will note:

  • The second round of consultations of the president of Italy Mattarella with leaders of parties has ended without results, the parties have taken a break. The mandate on the formation of the coalition has considerable influence on euro: if the trust is put in Salvini − euro will appear under pressure, if Di Maio: the small positive is possible. The solution of this issue obviously waits for regional elections on 22 and 29 April − the winner will increase the chances of receiving a post of the Prime Minister.
  • Judging by polls, about 38% of the British believe that the Prime Minister May (without discussion with parliament!) has made the decision on the participation of Britain in operation against Syria only to strengthen the reeled popularity.
  • Leaders of the EU report about the achievement of progress in negotiations with the USA concerning the nuclear agreement on Iran: if the agreement is kept, and new sanctions won't affect export of oil of Iran, then the main benchmarks will receive a powerful incentive to decrease.

Current week investors will monitor the situation in Syria and to estimate the potential effect of the smoldering trade conflict between the USA and China.

«The beige book» and also mass actions of the various rank of officials of FRS will be the main information of the Federal Reserve System current week. We will remind: the probability of an increase in an interest rate in June is estimated at 95%, on the third increase (in December) – about 85%.

Britain on Tuesday will read data on inflation in March, and further – the report on unemployment and volume of retails – new signals of the influence of Brexit on the economy are possible. In the Eurozone, it is necessary to monitor inflation for March and the ZEW index of Germany.

Surely we pay attention to the Chinese statistics. On Tuesday China the first of the leading economies of the world will publish data on economic growth for the first quarter. The additional block of data as it is predicted, will support positive dynamics of growth (approximately for 6,8%). Besides, investors try to understand what will be a result of a series of mutual threats between the USA and China. Also from the trade mission of the USA, we wait for the publication of the additional list of production of China (for $100 billion) for an increase in duties.

Technical Analysis EUR/USD

EUR/USD forex


Technical Analysis USD/JPY

USD/JPY forex

Author: Navsher Bartash,
ForexChief Currency strategist